The Other Daughter

A blog by Lara Jackson’s sister

promise kept

Posted by Carly Rose Jackson on May 4, 2011

Have you ever been waylaid by an Israeli cosmetics salesperson? You should, it’s quite an experience. Tonight I was leaving the mall–as it was closing–and a young man with that familiar accent came up to me.

He insisted on rubbing sea-salt on my arm, then serum, then body butter. When I didn’t immediately run away, he applied eye serum and eye cream.  He made me compare my eye circles while he exclaimed, “Amazing!” and “Look how different!”

He started mentioning prices, and I started making that pained, hissing noise when large dollar amounts are whispered delicately into one’s ear.  He lowered prices and added a couple free gifts (for my beloved mother, of course). After I reluctantly agreed to fork over my credit card (reluctance mixed with the joy of getting high-quality skin products), he tried to sell me another line of even more expensive products.  He went through two more full-blown sales pitches, applying products, naming astronomical prices, lowering said prices, throwing in free gifts.  I enjoyed the show, but I stayed firm.  I already spent enough money.

Finally the lights in the mall were turned off, all the store fronts locked, and he slowly put my purchases into a bag–not without a couple interruptions where he made another deal, and kept placing items in my hands, as if I wouldn’t be able to let them ago.  But no, I would get away with just a handful of items, each one guaranteed to last at least a year.

Really, his performance was fit for Broadway.  He gently mentioned my facial imperfections, asked for personal details about my life, acted like he was really interested.  Maybe he was.

One thing I learned in my economics studies is that a sale benefits both parties.  I spent the amount of money that I was willing to pay for such products.  He made a sale.  I assume that’s beneficial for him, because he worked very hard.

Each product is supposed to last a year.  I want to know if I actually got my money’s worth.  So, here is my BEFORE picture:

Yes, I used unflattering light and a white background on purpose.

A year from today, I will post an AFTER picture.  I bet you can’t wait.

For the record, the products I purchased are Vivienne by Dr. Luxman.

I have:

Exfoliating Body Scrub

Shea Nut Body Butter

OnSen Pure-a-Peel

Pure & Calm Facial Cleanser

Mega-Moisture for face

Peptox Eye Cream

Green Seaweed Serum for eyes

and

2 bars of soap

Not for the record: how much I paid, because my mom reads this blog.

If you want to experience the sales pitch of an Israeli salesman, they have locations in El Paso, Austin, Friendswood and Houston.

6 Responses to “promise kept”

  1. Carly Rose, as Dad would say, “You are a marketer’s dream!”

  2. Carly Rose Jackson said

    But that’s not true. I had plenty of time to think about whether or not I wanted to buy those items. I considered the prices. I never took his first offer. When I got all I wanted, I refused to buy more, and he did try to sell me more! Actually, I’m a marketer’s nightmare.

  3. cassie said

    Carly – I had the same EXACT experience!!! Crazy how your story was exactly like mine. How are the products working for you? Also, I tried to research and review Vivienne by Dr. Luxman and have found nothing (only your blog). Any feedback?

  4. Tameka Coleman said

    I also had the same experience just today at The Galleria Mall in Houston, however my sales person was a beautiful young lady.

  5. Tynker Hell said

    I tried to google this line too….not too much luck! I got suckered today and am hoping I wasn’t totally scammed! I got the deal as you say. I was having buyer’s remorse and looked at the receipt…no returns, exchange only. Anywho, I was wondering how the line is working for you. I have super sensitive skin and am hoping this is not going to mess it up!!! Any feedback would be very appreciated. I will say, kudos to the sales guy, he was amazing and a born seller. I just hope he wasn’t a scammer!

  6. Carly Rose Jackson said

    Tynker Hell:
    Actually, I cut back my use. When I bought the stuff, I had a dry spot under my eye and the Vivienne stuff made it worse. So I use the moisturizer and the face wash sparingly. I really like the eye cream and eye serum, but I can’t use it when my skin is super dry. So, live and learn!

Leave a comment